A friend of Wayfarer joins GracePointe

Our good friend Will Gunter is joining a new ministry called GracePointe based here in upstate South Carolina. Will has been a youth minister in Spartanburg County for about a decade, and he has used Wayfarer curriculum, speakers, and brought groups to Wayfarer Camp. We’re excited about the new call Will has on his life, and we asked him to share a bit about it. Here are his words:

GracePointe Ministries exists to “ignite a passion for Life that impacts generations for Life.” GracePointe will provide counseling and direct ministry to the at-risk community and support to those who work with the at-risk. At this time we are providing ministry services to Homes 4 Life, SPHIN, Hope Remains Youth Ranch, and Woodruff Area Soup Kitchen.

I am personally talking and praying with Scott Wolfe (InYou Minstries) about helping to bring some structure back into the Homes 4 Life ministry. It is a home for boys 18-21 years old who are in transition. This past Tuesday I spoke at the Woodruff Area Soup Kitchen, which is a weekly ministry for GracePointe. Before they just fed the folks in need, but now GracePointe brings in music and or a speaker on a weekly basis to ignite a passion for life and preach Christ. These are examples of GracePointe’s vision to be a healthy resource for at-risk ministries that already exist.

I will also be meeting with and counseling with families and individuals that have need. The Lord may bring them into my life, or he may put them on my heart to go see. For example I had a family this week who called about their daughter who has been molested (in this case the police have been contacted); they requested for me to come by and visit as a support. With the help of the Holy Spirit I will walk with this family and connect them to healthy resources as they need and request.

I will be seeking opportunities to speak at churches or other organizations to share my heart and passion. My heart is that people would discover all that is theirs in Christ and find healing, life, and freedom in those truths. For example, when I spoke at Glendale, I preached on 2 Corinthians 5:17 (we are new creatures in Christ). I explained the old things that have passed away and the new things that God has now ushered in through Christ. Many were touched and encouraged. After lunch a lady called asking for prayer and wanting to talk regarding her family situation.

As I go I will be sensitive to the Spirit to continue to develop me and the ministries He has. Over all I will preach and teach Christ as Life, and will live it out as I go by His Grace.

1 Comment

Filed under Wayfarer Camp 2010

One response to “A friend of Wayfarer joins GracePointe

  1. Rob Nelson

    Excited to have Will as a integral part of GracePointe Ministries. His life is a great expression of the Life of Christ being lived in and through a willing vessel. It’s all about life and the privilege to walk along with others in their quest to know the love of the Father. We look forward to sharing this Life alongside Wayfarer in the days ahead. Acts 17:27-28a
    RN / GracePointe Ministries

Leave a Reply

